Six on Saturday – 06-04-24

Another Saturday rolls round, another week with those of us in the UK wondering if the weather is ever going to dry up, and warm up. But no matter the weather, it’s time for another Six on Saturday, the gardening meme led by the expert Jim at Garden Ruminations. Why not join in? You’d be very welcome.

Here’s my six for this week: a garden visit and some plant purchases.

  1. On a soggy Bank Holiday Monday we drove for an hour down to the Dorothy Clive garden where like-minded plantaholics braved the rain at a Plant Hunters’ Fair. When the rain stopped for a while in the afternoon we managed a muddy walk around the gardens. Although parts of the garden were pretty much impassable due to the mud, there was still plenty to be seen although I wasn’t able to get many decent photos.

2. Pulmonaria “Sissinghurst White”. I’m not sure where this one is going to go yet, but I really liked the foliage.

3. Erigeron karvinskianus – to replace the one I’d been mis-sold. It will go in a sunny spot in the garden and I’m hoping it will self-seed around the gravel.

4. Erythronium “Pagoda”. Another one that I’m not sure where to place, I just loved the flowers.

5. Snakeshead fritillary. I can’t decide whether this should go with the spring bulbs around the bird bath or in the shady area at the back of the garden.

6. Muscari aremeniacum “Baby’s Breath”. The muscari I’ve already got which are visible from the house seem very happy where they are, so I think this will join them.

That’s all for this week, weather permitting we’ll be heading to Ness Gardens on Sunday for – yes, you’ve guess it! – another Plant Hunters’ Fair!

13 thoughts on “Six on Saturday – 06-04-24

    1. It was the pale colour of the muscari which tempted me, it’s a beautiful colour.
      I bought a berberis which I haven’t featured today – it was £12 at the fair, I saw a similar one for £22 in a garden centre a couple of days later!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for showing the Dorothy Clive garden, my parents used to live in Stafford so it was handy to visit. We also lived on the Wirral for years and Ness Gardens was a favourite to visit, thanks for the memories! Love your new purchases, definitely Erythronium time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a delightful selection to add to your garden. The Pulmonaria Sissinghurst white is a delight, and an early to flower and much visited by bubble bees. I have it growing in the sun, but it does not bake hard. If you were to see a field where the Snakehead Fritillary grow, you would understand that can be also happy in full sun so long as they have moisture, in Lechlade they grow in a water meadow in a vast swath.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t realise the pulmonaria was an early flowerer, that makes it an even better buy than I thought it was as I don’t have very much for early bee visitors.
      I bet the snakeshead fritillaries in Lechlade are stunning:-)

      Like

  3. You had a very productive day at the Plant Hunters’ Fair! I’d love to spend a day at a plant fair. You’ve bagged a few bargain plants – each one of them a good choice! Love your photos from the Fair.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment